The Sorrows of Young Werther by Goethe

the_Sorrows_of_Young_Werther

“I was about to break off; for no argument makes me lose my composure more quickly than the introduction of some vacuous commonplace when I am speaking from the bottom of my heart.”

“I’ve made all sorts of acquaintances but as yet I have not found any real companionship. I do not know what it is about me that attracts others; so many of them like me and attach themselves to me, and then it hurts me when we walk only a short way together.”

“At night I resolve to enjoy the sunrise, and I do not get out of bed; during the day I hope to enjoy the moonlight, and I stay in my room. I do not really know why I get up and why I go to bed.”

“Certainly, since we are so constituted as to compare everything with ourselves and ourselves with everything, our happiness or misery lies in the objects with which we are associated, and so there’s nothing more dangerous than solitude.”

“When we are inadequate in ourselves, everything seems inadequate to us.”

“…my heart is undermined by the destructive force that is concealed in the totality of nature; which has never created a thing that has not destroyed its neighbor or itself. And so I stagger about in fear! heaven and earth and their interweaving forces around me: I see nothing but an eternally devouring, eternally regurgitating monster.”

“I have been drunk more than once, my passions were never far from madness, and I regret neither: for in my own measure I have learned to grasp how all extraordinary men who have achieved something great, something seemingly impossible, have inevitably been derided as drunkards or madmen.”

some quotes I found dramatic from The Sorrows of Young Werther
Leave a Reply

