Cat Town by Sakutaro Hagiwara

Cat_Town

A Frog’s Death

A frog was killed,
the children made a circle and raised their hands,
all together,
raised their lovely,
bloody hands,
the moon appeared,
on the hill stands a man.
Under his hat there’s a face.

 

Seeds on a Palm

I make a mound of earth on my hand, sow seeds over the earth,
now as I pour water over the earth with a white watering pot,
the water pours purling,
the cold of earth smarts on the hollow of my hand.

Ah, I push open the May window in the distance,
put out my hand in sunlight,
and being in a halcyon landscape,
the skin grows balmy and warm,
the seeds on my hand begin endearingly to breathe.

 

Death

From the bottom of the earth I stare at,
a ridiculous hand sticks out,
a leg sticks out,
a neck protrudes,
gentlemen,
this damned thing, what on earth,
what kind of goose is this?

From the bottom of the earth I stare at,
looking foolish,
a hand sticks out,
a leg sticks out,
a neck protrudes.

 some poems I loved by Sakutaro Hagiwara, translated by Hiroaki Sato
Leave a Reply

